Hello, and welcome to Wordpower 1.2, a dictionary for Microsoft Windows.

INSTALLATION/INFORMATION

The following is the list of files you require to run the system:-
wpower.exe      (the main program)
Dic.sav         (User configuration)
Data base files for each language.

The following database files are available

GERMAN
Engger.fin
Engger.ptr
Gereng.fin
Gereng.ptr

FRENCH
Engfre.fin
Engfre.ptr
Freeng.fin
Freeng.ptr

SPANISH
Engspafin
Engspa.ptr
Spaeng.fin
Spaeng.ptr

ITALIAN
Engita.fin
Engita.ptr
Itaeng.fin
Itaeng.ptr

These files can be placed anywhere on your system, but there must be a path 
set-up to a file called VBRUN300.DLL this is the visual basic runtime library. 
This file can also be placed in you windows system directory.

The program is in a compressed form, to decompress it just type the name of 
the EXE file.

Once decompressed copy the files to a directory on you hard drive.

Run windows, once in windows open a program group such as MAIN, go to File on 
the menu bar then select New and press OK. You should now have a box titled 
Program Item Properties.

This box contains

Description
Command line
Working directory
short cut

for the description you can put anything such as:-  Dictionary V1.0
for Command Line type:-     Wpower.exe
for the working directory you should enter the full name of the directory 
where you placed the files such as:- c:\diction.
Now click on the OK button and you should see an icon appear of a globe, 
double click on this to Start the program.

USER GUIDE

First let me describe the screen layout and what each part is for.
The keypad type display on the left of the picture is used to enter letters 
not found on standard keyboards, a simple click on any one will place the 
corresponding character in the data entry text box. This is located directly 
underneath the keypad. This box is designed to enter the words you wish to 
search for, once a word is entered you can either click on the translate 
button or press Enter to get the translation. The translate button is directly 
under the text input box. Translations appear in the right hand section along 
with all the words that are close in spelling, the translation also appears 
in the box below on it's own. There is a slide bar to the left of the list 
window which is designed to move up and down the word list, clicking on the 
arrows will move the list up/down a page at a time. If you place the cursor 
on the actual slide bar button and move it up or down whilst holding down the 
mouse button you can jump up and down the list at will.

Languages
The Dictionary can translate both ways, I.E. from English to German and 
German to English this switch is implemented with the language button located 
at the bottom left of the screen, it currently displays which language pair 
you are using. A click on this button will reverse the direction, click again 
to turn it back.

You can also change the language that the menu is displayed in by clicking on 
the Menu item you get a list of available menu languages with a tick beside 
the one in use, clicking on any other will cause the menus to change to that 
language.

If you want to change the language that is being translated I.E. the system 
is currently translating English to German and you want to do English to 
Spanish click on the set-up option on the menu and then click on the Language 
option, you should see a list of languages available. Click on  
English/Spanish and then on OK you can now see the language direction button 
shows English/Spanish.  Now by typing an English word you will get the 
Spanish translations.

To save the setting go to setup and click on save, this will update the 
Dic.sav file.

Button Bar
Some of the operations achieved by using the menu can also be done using the 
button bar. 

Add,Edit and Delete
New features for 1.2 include being able to add,edit and delete definitions 
from the main word list. These functions can be accessed from the main menu
and also from the buttons bar along the top of the main screen.



I hope you find this program useful, I am always upgrading it and if you have 
any suggestions as to improvements please contact me on CIS 100016,3111. or
phone/fax (44) 81 468 7359

PAYMENT
If you use this program I expect you to pay for it, it is not free I expect  
a fee of 15 pounds or equivalent in you local currency. use the included form
when ordering.

Best Wishes

Daniel Burke